Preview our most recent tutorials

Every two weeks there is a new tutorial for you to enjoy.

Fun, challenging and something you'll be proud to say is your painting.

ALL   |   BEGINNER   |   INTERMEDIATE   |   ADVANCED   |   SPORTS   |   PEOPLE   |   UNDER 1 HOUR   |   OVER 1 HOUR   |   DARK COLOURS   |   LIGHTER COLOURS

PEOPLE BASED TUTORIALS:

Nov 8 2020

54. THE STREET BUSKER – PREVIEW

This week we’re painting this fantastic 'street busker'. It’s a great painting to understand shadows, the hat he’s wearing creates a great shadow straight across the face and allows us to show the features of his face in both light and shadow using warm and cool shades to bring forward the subject matter where needed. You’ll love this one.

Oct 25 2020

53. HER FIRST BIKE – PREVIEW

This fantastic picture of a girl riding a bike is todays tutorial. It has a great shadow cast onto the pavement where we will use some lovely darks to create a deep yet colourful shadow. There’s some lovely fine detail to do on the bike and we have to keep some areas sharp using our dry brush techniques and some softer using wet into wet. This is a gorgeous painting to hang on any wall, I know you’ll love doing this one.

Sep 27 2020

51. JUST LOOKING – PREVIEW

Today we’re painting “Just Looking”, I took this photo early morning and love how the man is just standing, gazing into the water. There’s a great opportunity here to use deep background shades to make the main subject ‘pop’ off the page. Grab your brushes and enjoy.

Sep 13 2020

50. THE LONG SHADOWS – PREVIEW

Today we’re painting “The Long Shadows”, this is one of my favourite things to do, big long shadows cast from direct sunlight, and two detailed figures walking with a soft out of focus pavement behind them. This is so much fun because you can hang this painting in any direction, you’ll see what I mean at the end, but before you sign it, decide which way up you are going to have it. Enjoy!

Aug 30 2020

49. LOST IN THOUGHT – PREVIEW

Today we’re painting “lost in thought” a single figure, sat alone on a quayside contemplating life (we think). This is a great painting to dip into when you have a spare hour to paint. It’s a brilliant piece to try several times to improve your techniques and lays the foundation for the larger paintings we do. Theres use of highlights, shadows, wet into wet and dry brush techniques. You’ll enjoy seeing the improvements each time you do this one. Enjoy.

Aug 16 2020

48. CARRIAGE RIDE IN DALLAS – PREVIEW

This week you’re painting one of grahams most requested paintings. We’re painting a horse and Carriage, mid ride in Dallas-Fort Worth, Texas. This is Grahams longest tutorial so make sure you’re comfy if you’re going to do this in one sitting. It’s a great way to use light and shadow to create shapes that jump off the paper. Colourful, beautiful and interesting, this is a great way to hone the skills we’ve learnt to create your very own masterpiece.

Aug 2 2020

47. FISHING FROM THE QUAY – PREVIEW

We've got three brand new, great tutorials this month. This “fisherman from the quayside” gives us opportunity to really use light and dark tones to create dramatic shadows and light areas to show the angle of the sun. There’s also some detail, but not too much, in the fisherman himself in order to make sure he looks grounded to the quayside and enjoying his days fishing. It’s great to be back and I hope you enjoy.

Jul 5 2020

46. LONDON STREET CAFE – PREVIEW

Today we’re in London with something that feels a little alien to us all right now. It’s a photo of a man sat outside a cafe relaxing. We’ve got some great use of lights and darks to create shadows around his bag and under the table as well as preserving all the highlights using the white of the paper where it's needed. Hopefully this will become the norm again so, enjoy…

Jun 7 2020

45. RODEO – PREVIEW

Yeehaw, this week were painting one of my favourites. It’s a rodeo scene of a cowboy riding a bull. This is a really exciting subject as we have to create the effect of dust and movement in the foreground whilst keeping our focus on the bull and cowboy. Were using our pallet of three to start and moving on to all six colours for the detail, you’re gonna love this one…

May 2 2020

44. WALKING AND TALKING – PREVIEW

Today we're in the world famous Liverpool. This is a photo of my own with great shadows to really show perspective in the painting. It’s two people ‘walking and talking’ in everyday life, a typical everyday scene that could be from anywhere in the world. We are going to use three colours for our initial wash, and then six colours for our detail. You’ll really enjoy this one!"

Apr 4 2020

43. BACK IN THE PUB – PREVIEW

Today we’re back in the pub. This is a photo I took many years ago in Kew, London and is one I love painting because of the intense light coming through the windows and reflecting on the tables. We’ve got several people in the shot and they add some interest and detail, but were trying to catch the atmosphere and overall feeling of the traditional British Pub. Enjoy !"

Mar 14 2020

42. WHATS OUT THERE – PREVIEW

We are going to Spain... This week we have a more in depth tutorial that focuses on two women sat on a wall looking out to sea. It's a great exercise in using wet in wet technique as we need a nice blurred background from which we can build detail into the main focus which is the two women discussing "Whats out there?"

Feb 29 2020

41. DONT DO THAT – PREVIEW

This week we're having a little fun. This is a composition of my own with a woman, hands on hips, looking on with disdain at a little dog spraying her luggage. It's a light hearted but great beginner/intermediate tutorial for you all to have some fun with. The reference image doesn't have a dog in it but I thought adding it made it a better composition, plus you get the chance to choose your own dog, search for one on google, or use the one in the reference drawing. I'd love to see a few different types of dogs in the gallery so go crazy and indulge yourself.

Feb 15 2020

40. THREE MEN WENT TO SEA – PREVIEW

Welcome to Tenerife, This week we're painting from a photo I took of three men going out on a boat for a days fishing. It's a scene you see a lot in the small fishing ports and is great fun for all levels of artist. We use the three base colours for our under wash and move to all six for our more detailed work. This is a great painting and I hope you really enjoy it.

Feb 1 2020

39. TETE A TETE – PREVIEW

Bonjour, we're in France. A typical small cafe, to be specific, with a couple sitting enjoying a drink. This is a great painting for all levels and we've had some long tutorials recently so this is nice change of pace running a little shorter at just over an hour. It's a great use of colours in the shadows and washes then using precision to create the pavement and the shutter effects. I hope you really enjoy it.

Jan 18 2020

38. POOGANS SMOKEHOUSE – PREVIEW

We're in Charleston, South Carolina, and we're outside the famous Poogans Smokehouse. This is a challenging and in depth painting that creates a wonderful finished painting worthy of anyones wall. I've broken it down in to several sections and we will work through it logically, Don't worry about counting those bricks in the background, I'll show you a great way to create the brick effect. It's a really fun painting that you'll really enjoy.

Jan 4 2020

37. FRENCH GARDEN – PREVIEW

This week we're in France. This is a photo of my wife Pauline gardening on a trip to France a couple of years ago. This presents some challenges, it has some fantastic colours throughout, but we have to keep the painting balanced to create realism. It's a really fun painting to follow along with. We will use three colours initially and then progress to using all six to add details throughout, there's no blurred backgrounds, which means lots of detail, but I know you'll really enjoy this one.

Dec 21 2019

36. HAND IN HAND – PREVIEW

This could be anywhere in the world, it's a painting of a couple holding hands walking down a promenade next to a beautiful blue and green sea. We use lots of colours in our shadows, whilst retaining the highlights using the white of the paper. Our background wash creates a grounding for our subjects feet, through the use of the sunlight casting shadows, and the lovely blurred background is created using wet in wet technique. It's a really fun painting that you'll really enjoy.

Dec 7 2019

35. TWO IN TENERIFE – PREVIEW

This painting is a little different. We have two people, two trees, two pigeons, it's two in Tenerife. An advanced tutorial for those who really want to get stuck into using multiple washes using our base three colours and then using all six colours to create a deeper more detailed tone for our subjects. We break this down into multiple sections to create a methodical approach to the painting. Enjoy.

Nov 23 2019

34. SONNY MACK – PREVIEW

We're in Memphis. Beale Street, the world famous home of Jazz and we're painting Sonny Mac mid performance. This painting only uses three colours to create lovely darks and a shallow depth of field for our background. Then we split the painting of Sonny himself up into nice easy sections before coming in with the final detail at the end. This is a really challenging tutorial but the result is an incredible painting you'll be really proud of.

Nov 9 2019

33. BACK WITH NOTHING – PREVIEW

We're on holiday in Tenerife watching the boats go by, but this group of fisherman have come back with nothing so that's exactly what were calling this one, "back with nothing". This painting uses lots of the tip of our large brush as well as some fun background washes that bring really vibrant movement to the foreground. Plus we have a nice out of focus feel to the sea behind the boat. The hero of the piece is the two fisherman dragging back their empty net. Enjoy.

Oct 26 2019

32. GOODBYE SUMMER – PREVIEW

This week we're in South Carolina and painting a fantastic photo by Lorri Wilson. It's a great look at using wet into wet technique for creating interesting backgrounds and has some finer detail in the figure and items she's carrying, It's going to be a fantastic one to paint and perfect for those long Autumn nights. Enjoy.

Oct 12 2019

31. THE DOG WALKER – PREVIEW

This weeks tutorial is a lovely image of a woman walking her two dogs on a sandy beach. Its's a great tutorial for beginners as it uses simple lines and shapes to create the effect of the sea and horizon. There is a lot of wet into wet and using the brush lightly to create the wash over the sky and water. We can get stuck in and really enjoy this one !

Sep 28 2019

30. BUSKERS IN THE SUN – PREVIEW

This tutorial is a lovely image of two musicians in a market square somewhere in sunny Spain. In the painting there is lots of wet into wet, lots of dry brush technique and also the importance of leaving the white of the paper for the highlights. It's all about brush control, water control and lots of colour. Plenty to get stuck into!

Aug 31 2019

28. SMOKY JAZZ – PREVIEW

This is a totally different subject for me, it's a night scene in a dimly lit, smoky jazz club, with some great atmosphere. We tackle this one with my usual triad of three colours, and as always the drawing is supplied for you so we can get painting straight away. You're going to need a lot of paint for this one so let's get painting!

Aug 17 2019

27. BUCKET AND SPADE – PREVIEW

This tutorial is a lovely image of two kids playing with a bucket and spade on the beach. A great painting for those of you who like to paint people but don't enjoy painting faces as there is very little detail. This is a tutorial we can all have a go at with confidence.

Aug 3 2019

26. BOY SPINNING TYRE – PREVIEW

Hi all, this short painting uses a slightly different technique; working wet onto dry for the first wash, and then working wet onto wet in some of the shadow areas. It is a lovely little painting to do and I hope you are going to enjoy painting along with me.

Jul 20 2019

25. SINGLE ROWER – PREVIEW

This tutorial is a lovely image of a rower on the River Thames. Some great early morning light creates some fantastic reflections on the water surface. This is a relatively simple painting but the reflections and capturing movement create some interesting challenges.

Jul 6 2019

24. SLEEPING IN THE SUN – PREVIEW

This is a short study of a man sleeping in a chair that I would like you to paint again and again to practice your different techniques - brush control, pigment control, wet into wet, dry brush and mark making. This is the type of study you can do when you have a spare half hour, so come on pick up your brush and let's get painting! This is a great subject so come on and let's get started.

Jun 22 2019

23. 4TH OF JULY – PREVIEW

This week's tutorial is a young girl pushing a bike celebrating the 4th of July - US Independence Day. There is a lovely field of daisies, lots of nice glows and lots of nice white highlights, combined with the warm yellow sunshine and vibrant reds and greens. This is a great subject so come on and let's get started.

May 25 2019

21. ASIAN LADY – PREVIEW

Hello everyone and welcome back to my studio. In this tutorial we're going to be painting a beautiful Thai woman, wearing a traditional Thai hat. There is some lovely light and colours in this picture and it is the first real full portrait that we have tackled so it is a great opportunity and challenge for you to get stuck into!

Apr 27 2019

19. COWBOY – PREVIEW

Here we have a painting of a Cowboy rounding up cattle. This scene has beautiful natural sunlight creating lots of lovely warm tones and shadows. Not too much detail in the background allows us to focus on the Cowboy, the horse and the movement in the cattle. I'm sure you will enjoy this one.

Apr 13 2019

18 MORNING CATCH – PREVIEW

This is a beautiful little image of 4 or 5 guys pulling in their fishing nets. Not too much detail in this one but a lot of atmosphere, with vibrant colours and the almost silhouetted figures on this panoramic view.

Mar 16 2019

16. SURFS UP – PREVIEW

Here’s a familiar sight for anyone mainly in Australia and the USA. A lovely loose piece with the challenge of painting rushing water. Let’s get stuck in!

Feb 16 2019

14. GONDOLA – PREVIEW

Venice is rich in interesting buildings and sights for any artist but none more-so than a gondola on the Venetian canals. This is a challenging subject to paint, we have water, buildings, people and reflections to consider but we will start with the background washes and move into the detail with our size 16 brush, let's get our brushes in hand and create something you’ll be proud to hang on your wall.

Jan 18 2019

12.STREET LIFE – PREVIEW

This is an interesting night scene, probably in Prague. It’s darker than my usual paintings, and we’re going to use the colours to mix some interesting shades and create a warm feel at the focal point of the painting. I want to create feel of a balmy evening and bring the street vendors’ stall to life. We will only be using five colours, but mixing them together to create a nice flow of paint using wet techniques. This helps create lovely soft edges where needed. We will then add wet onto dry to create more details and sharper edges for the focal point of the painting using darker, more intense mixes of those five colours. I always love painting real life situations, and here we have some great reflections from the street lighting to work with. This is great for beginners and experienced artists and I love the final painting because we’ve all had similar photos from holidays and the techniques can all be applied to a similar photo of your own.

Nov 29 2018

09. TROMBONE MAN – PREVIEW

This is a great study painting from the UK; a musician playing the trombone sat a park bench on a bright sunny day. It’s a great painting to try several times to build up your skills and your speed. This one is all about getting those colours prepared and onto the wet paper quickly to get a nice faded effect in the background.

Nov 29 2018

08. RUNNING FOR HOME – PREVIEW

A painting of a young baseball player running for home plate, this is a fun little study in getting the colours onto the paper quickly for the background and then using some slower techniques to add detail to the body and face. It’s also really fun to add the shadows and highlights, especially in the dusty sand to show where the dirt has been kicked up. We mix the colours together fairly loosely in this painting and blend them together on the palette as we go along. We use a nice green to “pull” the baseball player forwards off the page to give it a really strong feel that there’s depth in the image.

Nov 29 2018

07. GONE FISHING – PREVIEW

This is about being careful, taking time to do an overall wash and then looking carefully for the ripples in the water. The shadows are really important here as were dealing with a man stood in water. We’re going to add a hat to the fisherman (its not in the photo) to give it a more traditional feel. We’ll use the 1 inch and size 16 brush for most of this painting and start with a nice blue wash underneath, moving onto yellows for the underpainting section. We will make sure the pigment goes into the reflection as well as the fisherman, so it gives a realistic feel. We’ll mix some Quinacridone gold, cobalt blue and crimson to create the darker areas lift out some of the highlights to create shadows and light within the fisherman and the reflections. We will also mix paint directly on the paper as well as on the pallet.

Nov 29 2018

06. THE CATCHER – PREVIEW

This is a lovely study page of a young boy in the middle of catching a baseball. It’s great as an example of how to paint an action photo you may have. We only use three colours so it’s easy to practice again and again. We’ll use wet in wet techniques with a controlled wash to ensure we don’t lose those highlights in the white trousers. We’ve got some great vibrant colours to use and it will create a stunning finished painting. You’ll learn how to create both soft washes for the soft focus backdrop and also nice crisp edges for areas like the catchers mitt and shoes, then we will really focus on the creases within the clothes using the tip of the brush. It’s a great place to start with learning the techniques we use throughout our other lessons.

Nov 29 2018

05. SEA FISHING – PREVIEW

This is all about understanding the methods I’ll use throughout my tutorials and is a great place to start! It’s a great way to learn my techniques, and will give you a good understanding of mixing the colours, both on the paper and on the palettes. We will focus just on the two women themselves. Choosing to blend colours directly on the paper allows you to add and adjust different strengths of pigment to meet your preferred colours. This is all about understanding the methods I’ll be using throughout my tutorials and is a great starting point! Give this a go at least a few times and you’ll be off to a great start. Get your brushes ready and get practising.

Nov 29 2018

04. TWO FIGURES – PREVIEW

This is a challenge; there are lots of shades of white in the t-shirt and white crashing waves behind him. We will use all of our colours here: We will mix the colours both on the palette and directly on the paper. This gives us the ability to create a really dynamic feel to the focus of the painting. Painting legs that are in shadow is fun too - it uses far more colours than legs in direct sunlight. Finally we will add a hint of the ocean, BUT we're not finishing this one - I want to see how you interpret the remaining parts of the image to see what you come up with! I’ll give you feedback and I’m sure it’ll be great to see the variety we get. So. get your brushes out, and get painting!

Nov 29 2018

03. CYCLIST IN THE SUN- PREVIEW

This is a great photo of cyclist in Portugal with some lovely highlights from the sun and nice deep shadows casting onto the pavement. To recreate this, we’re going to be doing lots of wet in wet using just three colours, whose pigments will mix to create some of the deeper colours for the detail work. We’ll start with a complete under wash on the block, then we’ll create a mottled effect using some of the colours and a tissue to remove areas of colour and maintain those highlights. Finally, we will use the colours in a more intense form for the detail work using the number 16 brush for some dry work - so be ready to move quickly when it’s time.

Nov 29 2018

02. BOY FISHING – PREVIEW

This is a really fun one to try. Half the painting is ocean, with a ripple effect throughout. It’s certainly challenging to create that realistic feel of rippling water, but with practice you’ll create something that makes you just want to dive straight in! You’ve got lots of freedom here and no two versions will look the same, I’m really looking forward to seeing your versions of this one in the gallery.