Preview our most recent tutorials

Every two weeks there is a new tutorial for you to enjoy.

Fun, challenging and something you'll be proud to say is your painting.

ALL   |   BEGINNER   |   INTERMEDIATE   |   ADVANCED   |   SPORTS   |   PEOPLE   |   UNDER 1 HOUR   |   OVER 1 HOUR   |   DARK COLOURS   |   LIGHTER COLOURS

TUTORIALS UNDER 1 HOUR:

Apr 24 2021

66. THE BEACH BOY

Todays tutorial Is “The Beach Boy” and has been requested by lots of my students that wanted a piece they can practice again and again to help master some of the techniques before moving on to more intermediate and advanced pieces. So give this a go, its a nice fast piece only 40 minutes and if you’re not happy with it you’ve enough time to give it a few goes. Enjoy…

Feb 14 2021

61. SIMPLY VENICE

Today we’re in Venice, “The Floating City”. And we're looking out over the water (so get those blues ready) towards the Il Redentore, one of the iconic buildings of this lovely city. This is a nice beginner/intermediate piece with lots of soft backgrounds and our focus is on what is a regular site, a Gondolieri crossing the water. Enjoy…

Dec 6 2020

56. TWO HORSES GRAZING

I don’t normally do a lot of animals but I took this photo nearby and I loved the fact you could switch in your own background. There’s a nice wet into wet wash with our three colours to start and we move onto some fantastic details and bright tones in the horses themselves whilst preserving the all important whites of the paper. I can’t wait to see what backgrounds you all use. Happy painting.

Aug 30 2020

49. LOST IN THOUGHT – PREVIEW

Today we’re painting “lost in thought” a single figure, sat alone on a quayside contemplating life (we think). This is a great painting to dip into when you have a spare hour to paint. It’s a brilliant piece to try several times to improve your techniques and lays the foundation for the larger paintings we do. Theres use of highlights, shadows, wet into wet and dry brush techniques. You’ll enjoy seeing the improvements each time you do this one. Enjoy.

Aug 2 2020

47. FISHING FROM THE QUAY – PREVIEW

We've got three brand new, great tutorials this month. This “fisherman from the quayside” gives us opportunity to really use light and dark tones to create dramatic shadows and light areas to show the angle of the sun. There’s also some detail, but not too much, in the fisherman himself in order to make sure he looks grounded to the quayside and enjoying his days fishing. It’s great to be back and I hope you enjoy.

Oct 26 2019

32. GOODBYE SUMMER – PREVIEW

This week we're in South Carolina and painting a fantastic photo by Lorri Wilson. It's a great look at using wet into wet technique for creating interesting backgrounds and has some finer detail in the figure and items she's carrying, It's going to be a fantastic one to paint and perfect for those long Autumn nights. Enjoy.

Oct 12 2019

31. THE DOG WALKER – PREVIEW

This weeks tutorial is a lovely image of a woman walking her two dogs on a sandy beach. Its's a great tutorial for beginners as it uses simple lines and shapes to create the effect of the sea and horizon. There is a lot of wet into wet and using the brush lightly to create the wash over the sky and water. We can get stuck in and really enjoy this one !

Aug 17 2019

27. BUCKET AND SPADE – PREVIEW

This tutorial is a lovely image of two kids playing with a bucket and spade on the beach. A great painting for those of you who like to paint people but don't enjoy painting faces as there is very little detail. This is a tutorial we can all have a go at with confidence.

Aug 3 2019

26. BOY SPINNING TYRE – PREVIEW

Hi all, this short painting uses a slightly different technique; working wet onto dry for the first wash, and then working wet onto wet in some of the shadow areas. It is a lovely little painting to do and I hope you are going to enjoy painting along with me.

Jul 20 2019

25. SINGLE ROWER – PREVIEW

This tutorial is a lovely image of a rower on the River Thames. Some great early morning light creates some fantastic reflections on the water surface. This is a relatively simple painting but the reflections and capturing movement create some interesting challenges.

Jul 6 2019

24. SLEEPING IN THE SUN – PREVIEW

This is a short study of a man sleeping in a chair that I would like you to paint again and again to practice your different techniques - brush control, pigment control, wet into wet, dry brush and mark making. This is the type of study you can do when you have a spare half hour, so come on pick up your brush and let's get painting! This is a great subject so come on and let's get started.

Mar 30 2019

17. LIGHTHOUSE – PREVIEW

This week we have a wonderful study of a lighthouse. Using a simple palette of three colours I show you how to get that lovely big sky, nice looking water, waves crashing against the rocks and a simple study of the lighthouse. You will really enjoy this one!

Mar 16 2019

16. SURFS UP – PREVIEW

Here’s a familiar sight for anyone mainly in Australia and the USA. A lovely loose piece with the challenge of painting rushing water. Let’s get stuck in!

Mar 2 2019

15. LYTHAM WINDMILL – PREVIEW

Today were doing a study page on an iconic building in Lytham St Annes in the UK. This building is just a few miles from me and is a landmark that signifies the start of the beachfront in Lytham. We’re painting some detail in the foreground here in the sails and building itself and have a nice colourful background to create using wet in wet techniques. Grab your one inch brush and let's get painting.

Nov 29 2018

08. RUNNING FOR HOME – PREVIEW

A painting of a young baseball player running for home plate, this is a fun little study in getting the colours onto the paper quickly for the background and then using some slower techniques to add detail to the body and face. It’s also really fun to add the shadows and highlights, especially in the dusty sand to show where the dirt has been kicked up. We mix the colours together fairly loosely in this painting and blend them together on the palette as we go along. We use a nice green to “pull” the baseball player forwards off the page to give it a really strong feel that there’s depth in the image.

Nov 29 2018

07. GONE FISHING – PREVIEW

This is about being careful, taking time to do an overall wash and then looking carefully for the ripples in the water. The shadows are really important here as were dealing with a man stood in water. We’re going to add a hat to the fisherman (its not in the photo) to give it a more traditional feel. We’ll use the 1 inch and size 16 brush for most of this painting and start with a nice blue wash underneath, moving onto yellows for the underpainting section. We will make sure the pigment goes into the reflection as well as the fisherman, so it gives a realistic feel. We’ll mix some Quinacridone gold, cobalt blue and crimson to create the darker areas lift out some of the highlights to create shadows and light within the fisherman and the reflections. We will also mix paint directly on the paper as well as on the pallet.

Nov 29 2018

06. THE CATCHER – PREVIEW

This is a lovely study page of a young boy in the middle of catching a baseball. It’s great as an example of how to paint an action photo you may have. We only use three colours so it’s easy to practice again and again. We’ll use wet in wet techniques with a controlled wash to ensure we don’t lose those highlights in the white trousers. We’ve got some great vibrant colours to use and it will create a stunning finished painting. You’ll learn how to create both soft washes for the soft focus backdrop and also nice crisp edges for areas like the catchers mitt and shoes, then we will really focus on the creases within the clothes using the tip of the brush. It’s a great place to start with learning the techniques we use throughout our other lessons.

Nov 29 2018

05. SEA FISHING – PREVIEW

This is all about understanding the methods I’ll use throughout my tutorials and is a great place to start! It’s a great way to learn my techniques, and will give you a good understanding of mixing the colours, both on the paper and on the palettes. We will focus just on the two women themselves. Choosing to blend colours directly on the paper allows you to add and adjust different strengths of pigment to meet your preferred colours. This is all about understanding the methods I’ll be using throughout my tutorials and is a great starting point! Give this a go at least a few times and you’ll be off to a great start. Get your brushes ready and get practising.

Nov 29 2018

04. TWO FIGURES – PREVIEW

This is a challenge; there are lots of shades of white in the t-shirt and white crashing waves behind him. We will use all of our colours here: We will mix the colours both on the palette and directly on the paper. This gives us the ability to create a really dynamic feel to the focus of the painting. Painting legs that are in shadow is fun too - it uses far more colours than legs in direct sunlight. Finally we will add a hint of the ocean, BUT we're not finishing this one - I want to see how you interpret the remaining parts of the image to see what you come up with! I’ll give you feedback and I’m sure it’ll be great to see the variety we get. So. get your brushes out, and get painting!

Nov 29 2018

03. CYCLIST IN THE SUN- PREVIEW

This is a great photo of cyclist in Portugal with some lovely highlights from the sun and nice deep shadows casting onto the pavement. To recreate this, we’re going to be doing lots of wet in wet using just three colours, whose pigments will mix to create some of the deeper colours for the detail work. We’ll start with a complete under wash on the block, then we’ll create a mottled effect using some of the colours and a tissue to remove areas of colour and maintain those highlights. Finally, we will use the colours in a more intense form for the detail work using the number 16 brush for some dry work - so be ready to move quickly when it’s time.

Nov 29 2018

02. BOY FISHING – PREVIEW

This is a really fun one to try. Half the painting is ocean, with a ripple effect throughout. It’s certainly challenging to create that realistic feel of rippling water, but with practice you’ll create something that makes you just want to dive straight in! You’ve got lots of freedom here and no two versions will look the same, I’m really looking forward to seeing your versions of this one in the gallery.

Nov 29 2018

01. BOAT ON SHORE – PREVIEW

A bedraggled boat with loads of interesting things to paint. A vibrant buoy, netting, and worn wooden areas will really challenge our use of paints to create texture and form. There’s also a reflection of the boat in the surface water, which grounds the boat and gives it something to sit on. We’ve got highlights, darks, shadows and detail work using a pretty dry brush. Using six colours we will map in the under wash before moving on to the detail with our size 16 brush. Don't get too hung up on the correct colours in the correct places; it’s about using shades to indicate where shadows are ,and lifting off to create light. This is a really interesting subject; it’s only a 30 minute project but take your time, pause and replay any bits you’d like to see again. Enjoy!.